Thursday, May 5, 2016

Swish Captures Dayton Metro Tourney

Dayton Swish-Dayton Metro 2020 Champions
Coach Sam Anderson’s 2020 Dayton Swish squad finished 6-0 on Sunday on their way to the championship of the Dayton Metro Tournament in Dayton, OH.  To claim the crown, the Swish had to get by a former #1 ranked team in Mid-Ohio Pumas Blue in the championship game. The Swish never trailed in the game and went on to win 56-51. This victory is a little more noteworthy because Jack Pugh, one of the top players in the state and country, made a cameo appearance with the Pumas as he recovers from an early season injury.  Pugh finished with a game-high 21 points.  Sammy Anderson Jr. led the Swish with 19 points followed by Allen Lattimore with 12 points.  Standouts for the entire tournament included Anderson, Zieron Exon and Lattimore.

Coach Malcolm Walters’ NEO Shoting Stars played up in the 9th grade division of the TNBA Cage Classic and still found a way to bring home a championship.  Darion Henry, Devante Blanton and Grant Huffman were all standout performers for Walters’ squad.

Marty Finta’s 2021 All-Ohio Red team continues to rack up championships.  This past weekend, All-Ohio finished 5-0 at the Carlton Lemon Memorial Elite Classic in Worthington.  In the championship game, despite being short manned with only 6 players, All-Ohio defeated a very physical and hot shooting Huntsman Select team by about 25 points.  Playing big for All-Ohio was Isaiah May, Alex Williams, Gabe Finta and Quincy Clark.

Coach Sherman Miller’s 2021 Bedford Raiders notched a tournament championship at the All American Cage Classic near Cleveland this past weekend. On their trek to the championship, the Raiders defeated Ginn Elite by almost 50 points, Another Level by about 18 points and OBC by 26 points in the championship game. Standouts for the Raiders included Trey Miller, Peyton Mele, Chris Livingston, Aston Bates and Chaze Harris.

All-Ohio Blue 2020-Dayton Metro Champions
Coach Shawn Thigpen’s 2022 All-Ohio Blue team claimed the 6th grade title at the Dayton Metro tournament with victories over MVP Black (62-52), New Birth Warriors (74-25), Blue Collar (54-24), Next Level Prep (45-29) and Dayton Metro (62-52).  In the championship game against MVP Black, newly acquired Sencire Harris and Trey Dennis, both of whom went off for 20 points apiece, led All-Ohio. Also playing well for All-Ohio were Adam Duvall and Shawn Thigpen (2023).  With the addition of Harris, All-Ohio Blue should be a force to be reckoned with, as he and Dennis are ranked among are top 10 players in the state.

All-Ohio Red 2023 finished undefeated at the J3 Elite KOTC tourney in Atlanta with wins over TNBC, Choice Knights, Buckhead Bulls, J3 orange and J3 Black.  Stndouts for All-Ohio included: Jadi Cunningham, Ryan Nutter, Joseph Boddie, Carter Reece, Daniel Farmer and Bede Lori.

No comments:

Post a Comment